International Conference on Astrobiology (2018) (AstroBioCon)

It gives us immense pleasure to welcome you to International Conference on Astrobiology organized by our college. This two day conference will be held on 15th December 2018 and 16th December 2018 and will be a platform for interaction between international speakers, researchers, academicians working in the field of Astrobiology. We welcome you to participate in the conference and make it a grand success. - Dr. R. S. Zunjarrao Principal, MCASC and Convener, AstroBioCon

International Conference on Astrobiology (2018) (AstroBioCon)

Funded under Quality Improvement Programme of Savitribai Phule Pune University, Pune 7 Organized By

Post Graduate Research Center in Botany,

Progressive Education Society's

Modern College of Arts, Science, & Commerce, Shivaji Nagar, Pune 411005

In association with "Blue Marble Space Institute of Science, Seattle, USA"

Click here for Conference Brochure

Registration Details:

Registration Fees
  Faculties, Research Scholars, Professionals Students
Till 10th December 2018 Rs. 3,000/- Rs. 1,500/-
Spot Registration Rs. 3,500/- Rs. 1,500/-
The Registration fees of the first 65 students will be covered by Blue Marble Space Institute of Science and Science and Modern College, Pune-5. Rest registration fees: Rs. 1500/-
  •  The registration will be confirmed only after the payments are received.
  • Registration fees include tea, lunch for two days and conference kit.

Payment Details :

Account Name : Modern College Postgraduate                                  Name of the Bank : Bank of Maharashtra Branch : Modern College Rd. Branch, Pune - 5                                    A/C no.: 20137634580 IFSC code:  MAHB0001328                                                                     Bank Address : Modern College road,Shivajinagar, Pune – 411005 (The payment can also be made in College office)

Online Registration Form   : Only Spot Registration allowed now !

Themes :

  • Astrobiology and Extreme Environments
  • Astrochemistry
  • Astrophysics
  • Astrobiology : Public Engagement, Education and Outreach
Chief Patron: Prof. Dr. Gajanan Ekbote

Conference Convener: Dr. R.S.Zunjarrao, Principal, Modern College,Pune-5

Conference Co-Convener: Dr. Parag Vaisjampayan NASA-Jet Propulsion laboratory, California Institute of Technology, USA Organizing Secretary: Dr. Rebecca Thombre (Mob. : 07057992285) Coordinator: Dr. Anjali Sardesai (Coordinator, IQAC) (Mob. : 09325382444)

International Scientific Advisory Committee:

  1. Dr. Parag Vaishampayan, NASA-Jet Propulsion laboratory, California Institute of Technology, USA. (Chairman, International Scientific Advisory Committee)
  2. Dr. Nigel Mason, Coordinator Europlanet, UK.
  3. Dr. Sanjoy Som, NASA-Ames, Director, Blue Marble Space Institute of Science, USA.
  4. Daniella Scalice, Education and Communications Lead, NASA Astrobiology Program
  5. Dr. Felipe Gomez, Centre for Astrobiologia, INTA-CAB, Madrid, Spain.
  6. Dr. Rakesh Mogul, Director; NASA/CSU Spaceward Bound, California State University System.
  7. Ms. Haritina Mogoșanu, Director, New Zealand Astrobiology Network, New Zealand.
  8. Dr. Cheng Bing-Ming, Scientist, National Synchrotron Radiation Research Centre, Taiwan.
  9. Dr. Siddharth Pandey, President, Mars Society, Australia.
National Scientific Advisory Committee:
  1. Dr. Yogesh Shouche (Chairman, National Scientific Advisory Committee)
  2. Dr. Nitin Karmalkar, Vice Chancellor, University of Pune, India
  3. Dr. Deepti Deobagkar, ISRO-Chair, S.P.Pune University, India.
  4. Dr. Pandit Vidyasagar, Emeritus Professor, S.P. Pune University, India.
  5. Dr. V. Jayaram, Indian Institute of Science (IISC), Bangalore, India.
  6. Dr. Shyama Narendranath,Scientist, ISRO-HQ, Bangalore,India
  7. Dr. Bhalamurugan Sivaraman, Physical research Laboratory, Ahmedabad, India
  8. Dr. Rakesh Rao, Astro Project, Goa, India
Organizing Committee:
  1. Dr. R. S. Zunjarrao
  2. Prof. S.S. Deshmukh
  3. Dr. P. G. Dixit
  4. Prof. S. R. Chaudhari
  5. Dr. Amruta Oke
  6. Dr. Ashok Kamble
  7. Dr. Milind Alandikar
  8. Prof. S. S. Thengadi
  9. Dr. Anjali Sardesai
  10. Dr. Rebecca Thombre

Accommodation Assistance :

College does not have accommodation facility of its own. However, assistance, if requested, will be provided to out-station participants for accommodation in nearby hotels. Traveling : The College is located near Shivajinagar Railway Station and is well connected by city buses.

Contact  :

Tel. : (020) 25535102 / 25535927 email :